Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Winter has arrived...

+3
SteveCat
bobh
sean88
7 posters

Go down

Winter has arrived... Empty Winter has arrived...

Post  sean88 Sat Nov 16 2013, 19:29

Now winter has arrived I'm wondering if anyone takes any specific precautions with their cat? I've read in places the carbs are prone to icing over so wondered if anyone has experienced this? It'll be my first year on a big bike in the winter and I ride daily into the big smoke on congested roads so want to prepare myself properly before it gets icy.

Cheers all
Sean
sean88
sean88
3Bronze
3Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 26
Hobbies : Accountant, riding my cat, golf.
Humour : Humour??? I'm an accountant!
Registration date : 2013-07-23

Back to top Go down

Winter has arrived... Empty Re: Winter has arrived...

Post  bobh Sat Nov 16 2013, 23:31

I never bothered with fuel additives myself, but I'm told Silkolene FST works. Alternatively a dose of IPA (isopropyl alcohol, not the brewed variety). I only ever experienced carb icing after a high-ish speed run, e.g. on a slip road coming off a motorway. In slow traffic there's generally enough heat coming off the engine to keep icing at bay.

For me the main thing (apart from staying on the bike when the roads are all greasy, of course) is keeping salt-induced corrosion at bay. Ideally treat all exposed metal, especially fasteners, with ACF50 before winter really sets in, and where possible remove screws and re-fit with a smear of copper grease - this is especially true of the fairing screws, and particularly the ones low down that catch the crud. You can get this winter prep done professionally if you don't fancy doing it yourself.