Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First set of Leathers or other protection

+12
TomCom
kwakkat
past-it
bobh
Panzerbuilder
mrfrance
stretchie_
Woody
HEHORE
Wooster
Rampers
kenndo1
16 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

First set of Leathers or other protection Empty First set of Leathers or other protection

Post  kenndo1 Sun Feb 19 2012, 18:40

Hi all,

It has become high time for me to get some proper protection as my existing kit will not offer much protection in the event of an accident and also as I am now regularly commuting back to London which is a round trip of around 240 miles.

I am an absolute novice when it comes leather or other protection, but to help narrow the criteria the following will probably help:

1.Budget is not huge as I am a student, maximum 400-500 pounds at absolute most probably 300-400 would be more manageable but if there is a significant gap between the protection offered by kit that is 1 or 2 hundred pounds dearer than Im willing to stretch a bit more cash.

2. I heard leathers offer the best protection but are not waterproof and can crack. Also with the budget would it be advisable to get kit that will be usable all year round rather than 2 sets of kit (winter-summer).

3. It needs to be practical as I use the bike to commute every day. Do i go for leathers or other type of protection.

4. Kit required are Jacket and Trousers (or full suit depending on what is recommended), Boots, Gloves and other protection. Already have a decent helmet.

5. I am about 6 foot tall, relatively slim and about 11.5 stone (although starting to hit the gym and planning to gain a stone or 2 over next 6 months)

Thanks in advance!

Ollie

kenndo1
kenndo1
7Bronze
7Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 60
Hobbies : student, bikes, travelling....
Registration date : 2011-09-05

Back to top Go down