Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Does anyone know anything about Quad Bikes....?

2 posters

Go down

Does anyone know anything about Quad Bikes....? Empty Does anyone know anything about Quad Bikes....?

Post  Wild-Kat-Wolf Mon Jan 19 2009, 12:59

Right.... I need help (what's new I hear you mutter!)....

I've got a Yamaha Kodiak Bear 400 Quad... which I have to admit hasn't been serviced for about 6 years Embarassed It's used on the small holding for various tasks so get a bit battered about and typically doesn't get maintained very much as I'm too busy with other stuff.

Basically, it's not running properly... it starts, but will only run if the choke is out and you keep your finger on the thumb throttle.. the minute you take your finger off the throttle, or try and place it in gear it just cuts out. Plus it backfires and coughs loads!

Now, whilst I'm no mechanic, I'm going to 'attempt' to change the air filter and oil/oil filter and replace the spark plug (it's already got a new battery on it)to see if that 'helps'... however, does anyone have any suggestions as to what the issue could be for the dodgy running? Could the timing have got screwed up?

I would put it in for a service... however a) I'm skint! and b) I reckon that the service would cost me more than the quad is worth, plus it might still be dead at the end of it? Sigh! Rolling Eyes

Any suggestions (not rude ones before you all start!!) would be appreciated.... or if anyone fancies coming round and servicing it for me... no? :( Oh well it was worth a try Wink
Wild-Kat-Wolf
Wild-Kat-Wolf
3Gold
3Gold

Female Status :

Number of posts : 734
Hobbies : Generally being as naughty as I can ;o)
Humour : Hell yeah!
Registration date : 2008-11-08

Back to top Go down

Does anyone know anything about Quad Bikes....? Empty Re: Does anyone know anything about Quad Bikes....?

Post  SteveCat Thu Jan 22 2009, 11:45