Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect.

4 posters

Go down

Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect. Empty Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect.

Post  Walrus Sun Feb 28 2010, 12:35

Hi im new to the forum ive just started stripping down my cat following engine and gearbox problems. Gearbox kept sticking in gear, has anyone else had a similar problem and was if a difficult repair? I've never done a gearbox before so any advice would be appreciated Smile Also having big problems with the brakes binding, would new piston seals sort this out? I've bled them several times but still getting problems. Thanks guys!
Walrus
Walrus
1Bronze
1Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2010-02-28

Back to top Go down

Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect. Empty Re: Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect.

Post  0ldcat Sun Feb 28 2010, 16:39

Welcome to the site Walrus.

Sorry to hear of your woes.

There was someone that did the same as you are facing and did the full strip/rebuild in their living room Shocked Supplied pictures too.

I think that was when we were still on MSN tho.

Not being handy with spanners I'm affraid I cant help you, but I bet there's someone on here somewhere who can. Good luck.

Cheers
0ldcat
0ldcat
founder

Male Status :

Number of posts : 5229
Hobbies : Motorcycling, Cooking, Rugby
Humour : It shrank in the wash
Registration date : 2008-11-05

https://www.yamaha-thundercats.org

Back to top Go down

Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect. Empty Re: Full rebuild, engine gearbox, brakes ect.

Post  Rosco Sun Feb 28 2010, 17:17

Can't help on the gearbox side but I've stripped my brakes down a few times.
I've had to buy Yamaha seals (expensive) as the ones I bought from pattern parts weren't quite the right size (bloody annoying)