Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Swingarm Refurb

+3
stretchie_
SteveCat
dudeofrude
7 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Swingarm Refurb Empty Swingarm Refurb

Post  dudeofrude Wed Dec 17 2014, 09:29

Hi guys just after a little advice.
The swing arm on my 96 cat is in a sorry state to say the least. I rang up my local powder coating place and they quoted me 25 quid to have it blasted and re coated which sounds like a bargain to me.

So I'm planning to completely strip and Refurb the lower back end of the bike and I'm wondering if there's anything I need to be careful of or any known pitfalls? Also if there's anything that's worth replacing while I've got it stripped ie bearings, seals etc
Seems simple enough but I've never done one before so just thought I'd ask first.
Thanks in advance
dudeofrude
dudeofrude
7Silver
7Silver

Male Status :

Number of posts : 426
Hobbies : Gym, Tattoos, Ps4
Humour : Sick, Sarcastic
Registration date : 2014-07-08

http://www.abstract-tattoos.com

Back to top Go down

Swingarm Refurb Empty Re: Swingarm Refurb

Post  SteveCat Wed Dec 17 2014, 09:59

Hi, a similar job was done not so long ago, link to part of the thread [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
SteveCat
SteveCat
Admin2
Admin2

Male Status :

Number of posts : 5108
Humour : You've gotta be joking
Registration date : 2008-11-06

Back to top Go down

Post  dudeofrude Wed Dec 17 2014, 10:21

Thanks stevecat, does this mean I have to remove the bearings to get the swing arm powder coated? I was hoping to avoid that
dudeofrude
dudeofrude
7Silver
7Silver

Male Status :

Back to top Go down

Post  stretchie_ Wed Dec 17 2014, 10:43

Yes, get the bearings out and replace them, and post pics too Wink
stretchie_
stretchie_
4Gold
4Gold

Male Status :

Number of posts : 1353
Hobbies : Bikes and 4X4's
Humour : Sarcastic... Oh and cheeky, VERY CHEEKY
Registration date : 2008-11-08