Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I want to tour

+3
SteveCat
Dogsbody
thundercatCHRIS
7 posters

Go down

I want to tour Empty I want to tour

Post  thundercatCHRIS Sun Apr 20 2014, 01:28

Basically I am in the middle of getting my LGV liceince and i want to just get away. Away from the stress and just ride around europe.

I am looking for any hints and tips to ridding abroad. Also i would like some company.

Please could you please leave me some useful websites and some gear/mods that will be useful to while out in the wilderness.

Thanks in advance.
thundercatCHRIS
thundercatCHRIS
4Bronze
4Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 39
Hobbies : Chef/Taking over the world
Registration date : 2012-10-03

Back to top Go down

I want to tour Empty Tips for Abroad

Post  Dogsbody Wed Apr 23 2014, 17:44

I'm no expert but gear wise I rate the Jofama panniers and a tank bag (the magnetic type) Oxford or similar.
Sat Nav, I would class as essential but in conjunction with maps.
Over night ferry from Harwich is ideal for me, as after a 200 mile journey to the coast you have to sleep somewhere, plus you hit the continent first thing in the morning.
Assen of course is a good destination for the TT.
The Alps, Susten Pass, Furka Pass and Grimsel Pass can all be linked up, with Interlaken being an ideal base to camp.
Normandy area is interesting for the D-day thing.
And ear plugs in case any campsite is noisy !
Hope that's some help.
Dogsbody
Dogsbody
1Silver
1Silver

Male Status :

Number of posts : 111
Hobbies : Guitar/Bikes
Humour : Swiss Toni
Registration date : 2014-02-23

Back to top Go down

I want to tour Empty Re: I want to tour

Post  thundercatCHRIS Wed Apr 23 2014, 23:11

Thanks.

I was thinking of a sat nav and a 12v charger on the bike. Also i was thinking some soft side paniers, a bag on the rear seat and a tank bag with all the vitals in.