Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A Rant, about VOSA

+7
weasley
Snowcat
JAM
0ldcat
sir digby
greencat
Dai-San
11 posters

Go down

rant A Rant, about VOSA

Post  Dai-San Mon Apr 23 2012, 16:36

So, before I get into full flow, some background.

As some of you know I swapped my Tail Light for an LED one a while back. Now the thing I was concerned about was the Indicators and them not being far enough apart etc. At the last MOT (the first with the new tail light) I was told this wasn't a problem and it passed the MOT fine.

I just had the Cat MOT'd today (at a different MOT station I might add) and guess what?

It failed !!!

Guess what on?

WRONG.

Now I have been riding bikes for 37 years now, and since I first started riding on the road I have been giving the old Double Flash of the Brake Light. The first to hopefully wake up the tin can man behind me from his air-conditioned slumber and realise that I might be stopping or slowing down then a proper squeeze to actually Brake.

I know I'm not alone in this and it has been common practice from almost every other biker I have known over those 37 years.

Now the Tail Light I bought has a Frickin Awsome feature built in by those handy American chappies that takes away the need for me to do this manually, every time I brake it automatically flashes 3 times very fast then stays on. Wicked huh?

Oh no.

Steam Ears

Mister VOSA has a machine now that is used for the MOT to check your Brake Light. And guess what? Even though we can MANUALLY flash our brake light as many times as we want this Frikkin machine records an automatic flash as a fail.

You would not believe how embarrassed the MOT place were when they had to tell me it failed. Not even an advisor on anything else just this one thing they couldn't get around that is something we all do manually but the Frikkin powers that be have a machine that says (Computa says no!) and that's it.