Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

paddock stands

+10
johnelcoat
0ldcat
Little Ninja
HEHORE
billyw
owen.dyer146
SteveCat
Rosco
jayster
Yammycat
14 posters

Go down

paddock stands Empty paddock stands

Post  Yammycat Sun Jan 27 2013, 11:57

Hi all,

right so Ive owned a T'cat for less than a month, and as always I'm falling into that place of "I simply don't trust any other person / garage working on my bike" Which leaves me doing it by myself. I'm a cage (car) mechanic by trade, but there are differences where, in these areas I lack experience and in some cases the knowledge as well. - I cant afford to make a mistake as I'm sure all can appreciate, it could be costly in all areas (painful at the least, painfully expensive, or out n out write off)

So, obviously T'cats weren't fitted with center stands, and I have been looking around for front and rear paddock stands, when the words bobbins kept creeping up, and being needed for the paddock stands.

Where do these bobbins get fitted to, and should they be kept on the bike all the time or just when using the p/stands?

And can anyone recommend a good quality, reasonable priced set to go for / get from - as in p/stands and bobbins.

Oh and the other thing I wanted to know is regarding cleaning the bike - can car shampoo be used on our bikes, and what kinda polish should be used?

I'd normally use either Mer, or Turtle Wax on a car, but fairings aren't metal and I don't want to accidentally ruin the paint

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer

Yammycat
Yammycat
5Bronze
5Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 46
Hobbies : cage technician / tyre sales / grease monkey
Humour : odd, but funny (aparently)
Registration date : 2013-01-15

Back to top Go down

paddock stands Empty Re: paddock stands

Post  Yammycat Sun Jan 27 2013, 12:17