Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Opinion please. Cat design

4 posters

Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Opinion please. Cat design

Post  stretchie_ Tue Jul 21 2009, 16:58

Been thinking this morning. Forks already off (having a little trouble seperating them)

I'm planning to take the swing arm off anyway to rub down, treat and paint it
Engine is only held in with four bolts and not plumbing in at all and nothing connected up

It's been off the road this long, what's a couple more months going to matter?

The question is, should I just strip it right down and do a proper job, frame, swing arm, bottom forks and wheels all powder coated so the finish is good and I don't have to think about rust for another few years? It'll take alot more money and put me back months. But it's not like I won't have a bike to ride on... I'm getting all excited about biking again, this is cool

Some guys on another forum have done some rough photoshopping for me and I really like this one.

How is was, standard dark blue:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

How I'd like it:
Darker blue, lower fairing a dark grey towards black and wheels to match and the frame, swing arm and fork lowers a graphite colour

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Answers on a postcard
stretchie_
stretchie_
4Gold
4Gold

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 1353
Hobbies : Bikes and 4X4's
Humour : Sarcastic... Oh and cheeky, VERY CHEEKY
Registration date : 2008-11-08


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  0ldcat Tue Jul 21 2009, 17:59

Yeah,

The darker blue with mat grey frame and black (darker grey) belly pan looks good. Better than the standard blue IMHO.

If your gonna get the powder coating done, I'd suggest now's the time. Come the winter (closed) season the shops that do these things are gonna be busy with all and sundry. After all who gets these things done in the summer riding season, if they don't have/need to??

I'd say take the time and spend the money (presuming you have it) and get a good job done, or at the very least the best you can get and afford.

Look forward to seeing it back on the road again in the future and to seeing you on a ride-out again,

You gonna be on ToL ?

Re-fit the pillion pegs on the Baby Blade What a Face and bring missus Dan along, show her what's to come when she's passed her test ?

regards
Tel
0ldcat
0ldcat
founder

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 5224
Hobbies : Motorcycling, Cooking, Rugby
Humour : It shrank in the wash
Registration date : 2008-11-05


https://www.yamaha-thundercats.org

Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  trafman Tue Jul 21 2009, 18:09

I like it, now a nice flame blue can would finish it off a treat. Good luck with the project hope the pennies last out and you get a great job done on it.
cheers

trafman
trafman
trafman
3Bronze
3Bronze

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 27
Hobbies : magic, Metal detecting and Scuba diving
Humour : Its the best medicine
Registration date : 2008-12-14


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  stretchie_ Tue Jul 21 2009, 19:15

Cheers guys, I think I'll just take me time as the money is a bit and do it right then.

I really like the idea of getting the cat done as in the picture.

Won't be making the ToL though Crying or Very sad but it would be nice to make it out to something at least.

It's just everything is so far away, we have four dogs and no-one to look after them and I'm after getting a pass from the missus for a week and half trip into Europe with a mate early next year deal so don't wan't to push my luck.

Could always try and make it for a weekend thing, and just do the camping and the pi$$ up, that way we can all come along.


Why can't you all move over here???
stretchie_
stretchie_
4Gold
4Gold

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 1353
Hobbies : Bikes and 4X4's
Humour : Sarcastic... Oh and cheeky, VERY CHEEKY
Registration date : 2008-11-08


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  0ldcat Tue Jul 21 2009, 20:09

stretchie_ wrote:Why can't you all move over here???
Errrrr .. .. .. .. .. Where exactly IS over here ?
0ldcat
0ldcat
founder

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 5224
Hobbies : Motorcycling, Cooking, Rugby
Humour : It shrank in the wash
Registration date : 2008-11-05


https://www.yamaha-thundercats.org

Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  stretchie_ Tue Jul 21 2009, 20:36

Look -------->



Tsk, tsk.....

tongue
stretchie_
stretchie_
4Gold
4Gold

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 1353
Hobbies : Bikes and 4X4's
Humour : Sarcastic... Oh and cheeky, VERY CHEEKY
Registration date : 2008-11-08


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  Rosco Tue Jul 21 2009, 22:03

Like the look Stretchie mate.........fingers crossed it all goes to plan.

Cheers
Rosco
Rosco
Rosco
Admin2
Admin2

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 6650
Humour : Oh Go On Then
Registration date : 2008-11-06


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  stretchie_ Tue Jul 21 2009, 22:30

I'm going to start a telethon, all proceeds go to the 'Build a Cat' foundation and anything left at the end feeds and waters the worker involved....





Which is me

: )
stretchie_
stretchie_
4Gold
4Gold

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 1353
Hobbies : Bikes and 4X4's
Humour : Sarcastic... Oh and cheeky, VERY CHEEKY
Registration date : 2008-11-08


Back to top Go down

Opinion please. Cat design Empty Re: Opinion please. Cat design

Post  0ldcat Wed Jul 22 2009, 08:37

stretchie_ wrote:Why can't you all move over here???

Stretchmeister .. . . .. .. .. .When you said over here, I thought you ment the Isle of Widget or sommat. Nth Bristol . . .Tsk . . . bloody heck m8y we get peeps from Exeter to the ToL
0ldcat
0ldcat
founder

Male Status :
Online
Offline

Number of posts : 5224
Hobbies : Motorcycling, Cooking, Rugby
Humour : It shrank in the wash
Registration date : 2008-11-05


https://www.yamaha-thundercats.org

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum