Yamaha Thundercats
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Nooby Insurance Question

+4
kwakkat
bobh
Wooster
Mikes_A_Thundercat
8 posters

Go down

Nooby Insurance Question Empty Nooby Insurance Question

Post  Mikes_A_Thundercat Sat May 11 2013, 10:11

Hey guys and girls,

I'm a noob but haven't been on here in about 10 months. I signed up before getting a Cat to do research etc and life has just got in the way!

I'm back to looking at getting one again and have a querie on your insurance:

Is it worth getting fully comp over 3rd party,fire & theft?

My thinking is that if you have a small off you'd probably just fix it yourself and not go through the insurance. If it was a big off will they just write the bike off and pay out half it's worth? And then put your premium up as well.

Does fully comp cover you for injury/loss of earnings or is it just the bike?

Obviously fully comp can also cover your gear and helmet, which could be very expensive to replace. I guess that's also worth considering.

So I thought I'd put it to you lot and see what you have and recommend.

Thanks in advance,

Mike.
Mikes_A_Thundercat
Mikes_A_Thundercat
1Bronze
1Bronze

Male Status :

Number of posts : 9
Registration date : 2012-08-05

Back to top Go down

Nooby Insurance Question Empty Re: Nooby Insurance Question

Post  Wooster Sat May 11 2013, 10:34

Might be worth looking at breakdown/recovery as well.
Within a few weeks you'll probably find yourself going further and further afield and it'll give you a bit of piece of mind.

As usual it's worth shopping around since you might find some are offering FC for the same price as other 3PF&T and a fraction of what others are adding for breakdown and recovery.

Something also worth noting: It's becoming more and more common that insurers will automatically renew your cover every year (something hidden in the small print) and that can be expensive.